The Halfway Inn

Situated in stunning heathland at the heart of the Isle of Purbeck, the Halfway Inn is brimming with history and character. 

Our History

Constructed of cob and purpose built as a thatched-roof-farmhouse, the Halfway Inn is believed to date back to the 16th Century. Several original features remain including wattle and daub walls and flagstone floors. In 1859 the building was recorded as the Hixlade Head Inn and later in 1896 as the Halfway House, under agreement with Strong and Co. Brewery Ltd. Independent family brewers, Hall and Woodhouse, purchased the property in 1997. It remains part of the Hall and Woodhouse family today, independently run by experienced Business Partners Ben & Anne Brown.